The Last Dragon – Polly Ho-Yen

I can feel the force of my feeling pulsate through me – this desire that demands my sister gets well again. I can’t help but believe that somehow it will help, that if I think and want it strongly enough that it will help her. But, as the words leave my mouth, the dragon moves all around me. In one quick lashing movement, it encircles where I’m standing, making scale-covered walls with its body.

Yara is dealing with a lot: her beloved sister is in hospital, her parents are stressed and her teacher thinks she’s a troublemaker. After leaving the hospital one night, Yara meets a dragon. The last dragon. During this special moment, she’s left with the last egg from the last dragon on Earth. Can Yara protect the egg at all costs as others are desperate for it themselves?

Wow – get ready for an emotionally-charged, beautiful story about a passionate young girl devoted to her sister and willing to do whatever it takes to protect the last dragon’s egg. It is just sublime – sensitivity and empathy permeate through these fiery pages and you will be captivated by Yara’s determination. I couldn’t put this down and I know it will make a perfect class read for Y3+. Charis’ illustrations are also stunning and really complement Polly’s story perfectly. It’s fantasy but so grounded in relevant family and environmental themes that you almost forget there isn’t actually a dragon flying around the area. With elements which reminded me of my childhood favourites ET and Free Willy, The Last Dragon is a must-have read!

Suggested reading age: 7+

The Last Dragon is written by Polly Ho-Yen and is illustrated by Charis Loke. It will be published by Knights Of on 6th June 2024.

Published by Tom G

Avid reader. Dad of 2. Husband. Assistant Headteacher.

Leave a comment